Chiropractic + Naturopathic Doctor

Winnipeg chiropractor is new president of World Federation of Chiropractic

By Canadian Chiropractor staff   


gregstewartJuly 3, 2014 – The World Federation of Chiropractic (WFC) has elected Winnipeg-based chiropractor Dr. Gregory Stewart as its new president serving a two-year term. The announcement was made at the WFC Executive Council Meeting held in May in San Juan, Puerto Rico. He succeeds Dr. Dennis Richards of Australia, now past president.

Stewart, who received a Bachelor of Physical Education from the
University of Manitoba in 1982), graduated as a Doctor of Chiropractic
(cum laude) from the Canadian Memorial Chiropractic College in Toronto
in 1986. He has been in fulltime private practice in Winnipeg since, and
has served on many provincial and national chiropractic committees
since 1990. These include committees on the identity of the profession,
government relations, ethics, communications, interprofessional
collaboration, chiropractic legislation, third party and government
service negotiations, clinical practice guidelines and research.


is also a member of the Canadian Chiropractor magazine’s editorial
advisory board, advising on current trends and issues that matter to the

From 1994 to 1997, he was president of the Manitoba
Chiropractors’ Association. Stewart also served as president of the
Canadian Chiropractic Association (CCA) from 2002 to 2003. He has
represented Canada and the North American Region on the Council of the
World Federation of Chiropractic since 2006, most recently as first
vice-president. In 2012, he received the CCA’s highest honour, the Medal
of Merit, for outstanding services to the profession.

“I am
excited by the advances and new opportunities for the chiropractic
profession in many countries at present, and the vision and quality of
the leaders beside me on the WFC Council,” said Stewart.

these and other reasons the work of the WFC is more important than ever,
and I see significant new progress in research, education and practice
over the next two years if we continue to maintain high standards and
work together.”

Other officers elected in Puerto Rico were Dr.
Espen Johannessen, Norway, first vice-president, Dr. Carlos Ayres, Peru,
second vice-president, and Dr. Rick McMichael, U.S.A.,

Print this page


Stories continue below